CREME: Cubesat Radiation Environment Monitoring Experiment

In June 2011, the OCDE (Future Global Shocks) identified geomagnetic storms (of solar origin) as one of the 5 major potential risks for the coming years. Among other things, events related to solar activity can have an impact on civil and military terrestrial satellites of telecommunication, navigation and observation. Communications (HF / VHF / UHF), ROEM (Magnetic Electromagnetic Intelligence), GNSS navigation, radar detection, … can be disrupted. There is currently no meteorological service for the radiative environment of satellites with predictive capability in Europe. The starting point of such a service is to have in-situ measurements available to better know the current state of radiation levels and in the long term predict their evolution in the future. In addition, the arrival of Earth Orbit Rising (EOR) telecommunications satellites has brought to light new vulnerabilities to space radiation, previously underestimated (in terms of effects and dynamics).

The Cubesat project for Radiation Environment Monitoring Experiment (CREME) was submitted to the Occitanie region in the spring. It aims to develop a payload composed of a charged particle detector at moderate cost. It will be dedicated to both space weather and the measurement of the radiative environment that constrains the EOR missions, while guaranteeing quality measures. Its small footprint will allow validation via a flight on a CubeSat 3U. The detector envisaged is based on the principle of silicon diodes associated with an optimized shielding to discriminate charged particles encountered in space environment (protons of energy larger than MeV and electrons beyond a few hundred keV). It must have a cost and a low footprint and its design should easily adapt to any type of platforms (industrial or scientific).

The 3U platform, developed by ISAE-SUPAERO, draws on the expertise and feedback gained during the EyeSat (CNES), Entrysat (ISAE-SUPAERO – ONERA) and NIMPH (ISAE-SUPAERO,TAS, CNRS / LAAS) projects. It will be derived from the platform under development (MONITA) for the NIMPH project. The design / realization differential will remain limited, especially since the radiation monitor does not require precise attitude control. The risks are therefore low and the feasibility of the platform validated.

Beyond the framework of the CREME project, it is envisaged that the collected flight measurements will be exploited at the CSUT, thus enhancing the space domain with the students. They will also validate the concept of the detector in orbit and obtain new measures to enrich space weather monitoring services.

One of the prospects for such a project will be to offer space industry companies a low-cost, low-profile and small mass radiation monitor that is very versatile so that it can be easily integrated on commercial satellites. The idea behind this is to be able to eventually have a sensor that can accommodate the measured species (protons or electrons) and the measured energy range (between 1 and 100 MeV for protons, 100 keV to 4 MeV for electrons). Thus, in the future, a constellation of such detectors would make it possible to measure the spatial environment as a whole, and to characterize orbits hitherto poorly described from the radiative point of view.

Cubesat Radiation Environment Monitoring Experiment

En juin 2011 l’OCDE (Future Global Shocks) a identifié les tempêtes géomagnétiques (d’origine solaire) comme l’un des 5 risques majeurs potentiels pour les années à venir. Entre autres, les événements liés à l’activité solaire peuvent avoir un impact sur les satellites terrestres civils et militaires de télécommunication, navigation et observation. Les communications (HF/VHF/UHF), le ROEM (Renseignement d’Origine Electro Magnétique), la navigation GNSS, la détection radar, … peuvent être perturbés. Il n’existe à l’heure actuelle aucun service de météorologie de l’environnement radiatif des satellites ayant une capacité de prédiction en Europe. Le point de départ d’un tel service est d’avoir à disposition des mesures in-situ pour connaître au mieux l’état présent des niveaux de radiations et à terme prédire leurs évolutions dans le futur. De plus, l’arrivée sur le marché des satellites de télécommunications de type EOR (Earth Orbit Rising) a mis en lumière de nouvelles vulnérabilités aux radiations spatiales, jusqu’alors sous-estimées (en termes d’effets et de dynamique).

Le projet CREME (Cubesat for Radiation Environment Monitoring Experiment) a été soumis auprès de la région Occitanie au printemps. Il a pour but de développer une charge utile composée d’un détecteur de particules chargées à coût modéré. Il sera dédié aussi bien à la météo spatiale qu’à la mesure de l’environnement radiatif contraignant les missions EOR, tout en garantissant des mesures de qualité. Sa faible empreinte permettra sa validation via un vol sur un CubeSat 3U. Le détecteur envisagé repose sur le principe de diodes silicium associées à un blindage optimisé pour discriminer les particules chargées rencontrées en environnement spatial (protons d’énergie supérieure au MeV et électrons au-delà de quelques centaines de keV). Il devra présenter un coût et une empreinte faible et sa conception devra permettre un emport facilité pour tout type de plateforme (industrielle ou scientifique).

La plateforme 3U, développée par l’ISAE-SUPAERO, s’appuie sur l’expertise et le retour d’expérience acquis au cours des projets EyeSat (CNES), Entrysat (ISAE-SUPAERO – ONERA) et NIMPH (ISAE-SUPAERO, TAS, CNRS/LAAS). Elle sera dérivée de la plateforme en cours de développement (MONITA) pour le projet NIMPH. Le différentiel de conception / réalisation restera borné, d’autant plus que le moniteur de radiation ne nécessite pas de contrôle d’attitude précis. Les risques sont donc faibles, et la faisabilité de la plateforme validée.

Au-delà du cadre du projet CREME, il est envisagé que les mesures en vol récoltées soient exploitées au CSUT, valorisant ainsi le domaine spatial auprès des étudiants. Elles permettront également de valider le concept du détecteur en orbite et d’obtenir de nouvelles mesures aptes à enrichir des services de surveillance de la météorologie de l’espace.

Une des perspectives d’un tel projet sera de proposer aux industriels du spatial un moniteur de radiation faible coût, de faible encombrement et masse, et très versatile, afin qu’il puisse être intégré facilement sur des satellites commerciaux. L’idée sous-jacente est de pouvoir disposer à terme d’un capteur dont on pourra accommoder l’espèce mesurée (protons ou électrons) ainsi que la gamme d’énergie mesurée (entre 1 et 100 MeV pour les protons, 100 keV à 4 MeV pour les électrons). Ainsi dans le futur une constellation de tels détecteurs permettrait de mesurer l’environnement spatial dans son ensemble, et de caractériser des orbites jusqu’à présent peu décrites du point de vue radiatif.